Whole Class: Introductions

Introduction

Introduction

by Ayanna Waite -
Number of replies: 10

Hi Everyone!!

My name is Ayanna Waite, I am a second year international student from the sunny and vibrant island of Jamaica ( Montego Bay, the tourist capital to be exact :) ). I plan on majoring in Human Rights and Political Science with a concentration in IR. 

I love exploring and  learning about people and what makes us different but similar. Which is fitting as where i am from can be considered a real melting pot of cultures (our motto is out of many one people, as you can tell i love my island very much lol). I love all art forms but my favourite is  poetry.

I chose this class because i would love to learn how to combat some of the injustices i see and also face because of being black in our world today and what better way to do so if not through literature!

In reply to Ayanna Waite

Re: Introduction

by Katherine Johnson -
Hi Ayanna! It sounds like you have a really cool degree. I also love learning about people and originally came here looking into Anthropology for that reason, but I ended up a Human Rights major instead!
I hope you were able to visit home this summer or are there right now. You'll have to send us all some pictures this winter so we can remember what the sun looks like!
In reply to Katherine Johnson

by Ayanna Waite -
Omg yes I did get to go home !! Thank you for asking :) I don't know how i am going to survive this winter. I already miss the heat, My friends, family and the beaches :(
In reply to Ayanna Waite

by Amanda DiPaolo O'Brien -
Hello Ayanna! I am so pleased you were able to enroll in this course! Did I ever tell you I went to Montego Bay? I did all the cheesy tourist stuff while there, too. I swam with dolphins and walked up a huge terrifying waterfall! I also went to a street market that clearly catered to the many tourists. I'm so basic, but it was wonderful. And very beautiful.
In reply to Amanda DiPaolo O'Brien