Whole Class: Introductions

Introduction

Introduction

by Minahil Fatima -
Number of replies: 15

Hello everyone!

My name is Minahil Fatima and I am a 2nd-year international student from Lahore, Pakistan. I plan on majoring in IR and PoliSci with hopefully a minor in Human Rights. I love watching superhero films (my loyalties lie with MARVEL!) and learning about different cultures and languages. I am fluent in 4 languages and I'm working towards my 5th and 6th. I can also sign! 

Being regularly stopped by airport security for no valid reason is probably why I am interested in the field of human rights. 

Looking forward to taking this course with y'all!

In reply to Minahil Fatima

Re: Introduction

by Ellen MacDonald -
Hello Minahil,
My name is Ellen and I am a recent superhero film fan, so if you have suggestions please feel free to send them my way! I am inspired by your knowledge of so many languages as I am English speaking only but am currently going into my second year or beginner Spanish and have always wanted to learn a language other than English. Learning to sign is so important, go you!
I am sorry for your experiences at the airport, and am interested in Human Rights to be an ally.
In reply to Ellen MacDonald

by Minahil Fatima -
I'd suggest just diving headfirst and watching all the MCU films in order. They really are amazing (except for maybe The Incredible Hulk, you can skip that one!) And it is so cool that you're learning Spanish. It is definitely on my list!

And thank you!

by Jessie-Lynn Cross -
That really sucks Minahil about your airport experience. Your experiences with Human Rights abuses will definitely make you a stronger ally and activist.
I currently only know English and French super well but I practiced sign in high school a little and I am trying to learn German and Spanish also.
In reply to Jessie-Lynn Cross

by Minahil Fatima -
Hopefully, sometime in the near future, we all can make a difference and change the way things are now!