Whole Class: Introductions

Annabelle Ruest

Annabelle Ruest

by Annabelle Ruest -
Number of replies: 8

Hi everyone,

My name is Annabelle (she-her), I’m originally from Edmundston, NB, but I currently live with my parents in Québec City where they recently moved. I am in my fourth year at St. Thomas and I am double majoring in Human Rights and Criminology with a minor in Philosophy. I slowly took human rights classes my first being with Dr. DiPaolo, and it is now my favourite topic in university and I know for sure that I want to pursue a career in the field. I chose to take this course because I love reading about topics that I am passionate about, and I figured this would be a great class for me. The more I learn about human rights, the more I feel inclined to share my knowledge about rights that we often take for granted or to speak out about injustices in the world to try and educate my family members. My grandmother is my go to person since she loves learning new things and seeing new perspectives. I would say my biggest hobby, alongside watching TikTok videos for hours, and petting my cat Toby, would be to keep bettering myself and taking some step backs when I feel overwhelmed so my mental health stays in check. I also like going for long walks and the Old Québec scenery helps a lot with that.

In reply to Annabelle Ruest

Re: Annabelle Ruest

by Amanda DiPaolo O'Brien -
Hi Annabelle,

It is great to have you in another class of mine before your graduate! Woot! Woot! I'm happy to hear you are taking steps to take care of yourself when that is needed. Mental health is so important and I hope that I, too, can do the same. This semester is sure to get hectic for us all with everything being online. I also think it is awesome that you are talking about human rights with other people in your life. That is amazing! And that makes you a human rights advocate!!

by Megan MacGregor -
Hi Annabelle,